Three county schools receive Four Star status

By Joseph Slacian

Three Wabash County schools were named Four Star Schools for the 2013-14 school year.

Manchester Elementary School, LaFontaine Elementary School and St. Bernard Elementary School all received recognition on Tuesday, April 28, from the Indiana Department of Education.
Superintendent Ritz congratulated these schools.

“I am honored to name these schools as our Four Star Schools for this year,” Ritz said in a news release. “Winning this award is a testament to the excellent work done by teachers, administrators, students and parents throughout the year. On behalf of the entire Indiana Depart
ment of Education, I send them my sincere congratulations.”

In order to achieve this designation, a school must be in the top 25th percentile of schools in two ISTEP-based categories.  Additionally, a qualifying school must have earned an “A” in the state’s accountability system and be accredited by the Indiana Department of Education.

A total of 281 schools received the award throughout the state. 

The news of the honor was well received by local school officials.

“It is an honor to be recognized as a Four Star School,” St. Bernard principal Teresa Carroll told The Paper of Wabash County. “We are proud of our students’ achievements and appreciate it when they receive the recognition the deserve.

“St. Bernard School welcomes students of every faith, ethnicity and economic background, and our faculty works diligently to maximize each child’s full potential. Because of our management class size, we are able to individualize each child’s education according to his or her needs.

“We believe this provides our students the best opportunity for success.

Manchester Elementary School’s recognition was the first time a facility in the Manchester Community Schools has ever received the distinction.

“While we have always known that the staff and administrators at MES have offered students a quality education and excellent language arts and math programs, this award publicly signifies their accomplishments,” Manchester Superintendent Dr. Bill Reichhart said. “I cannot be more happy for Mr. (Wes) Mullett and his staff for all the hard work that they have done as a team to help students achieve.

“Parents, students and the entire North Manchester community should celebrate this tremendous accomplishment.”

Ironically, the MSD school board voted to close LaFontaine Elementary School at the end of the 2013-14 school year. Major structural damage to the building was discovered in the summer of 2013. Repairs to the structure would have cost about $150,000. All LaFontaine Elementary students now attend Southwood Elementary School.

“We are happy to see this award,” MSD Superintendent Dr. Sandra Weaver said. “It is definitely bittersweet.

“The former LaFontaine staff were informed of this and we are excited their hard work paid off.”

Posted on 2015 May 04